Top three finalists for the World Car of the Year were announced at the Geneva International Motor Show, winners will be declared on Thursday, April 21, 2011.

The top three titles selected from the initial entry list of 39 vehicles worldwide are (in alphabetical order)

• Audi A8
• BMW 5 Series
• Nissan LEAF

After winning with the BMW 3-Series in 2006, BMW is nominated again as one of the top three in 2011. To be qualified for the World Car award, vehicles must be available for sales on two continents or more between January 1, 2010 and May 30, 2011. A group of 66 top-level automotive journalists, appointed by the World Car Steering Committee, came from 24 countries around the world to vote for the World Car of the Year. These jurors are knowledgeable, experienced, credible and influential from reviewing and test-driving new vehicles in their daily work.

The winners from the previous years include,
2010 – Volkswagen
2009 – Volkswagen Golf
2008 – Mazda2 / Mazda Demio
2007 – Lexus
2006 – BMW 3-Series
2005 – Audi A6

The World Car of the Year award first started in 2004 with the goal of complementing with the existing national and regional Car of the Year programs. It is administered by a non-profit association, and guided by a Steering Committee of pre-eminent automotive journalists from Asia, Europe and North America.

Visit the World Car Awards website to learn more about the awards.

Source: BMWBlog

Facebook comments:

One comment on “BMW 5 Series won World Car for the Year

  1. Pingback: Microsoft Points Code Generator

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



HTML tags are not allowed.